Giving Beyond Borders - Easier than you Think - presentation to Philanthropic Foundations Canada

August 12, 2009 | By: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) Mark Blumberg
Topics: News, Canadian Charity Law, Global Giving

Here is a copy of the flyer for a presentation that I will be delivering to Philanthropic Foundations Canada on September 15, 2009 http://www.pfc.ca/files/PTP_flyer_sep15_09.pdf as part of their 2009 Professional Development Sessions

Here is the text of the flyer:

Giving Beyond Borders: Easier than you Think with Mark Blumberg, Blumberg Segal LLP

2009 Professional Development Sessions

September 15, 2009

Telephone/Internet Forum


Canadian charities working internationally deal with many of the most pressing global issues. Yet, while many foundations may give to Canadian
charities working abroad (such as Oxfam Canada), very few wish to work directly beyond our borders. Those that do may consider themselves
global citizens and are motivated by the challenges. Others may cite the enormous impact of their donations in a developing country.
This session will provide a thorough briefing for foundations that are conducting or are interested in conducting programs outside Canada. The presenter is Mark
Blumberg, Partner at Blumberg Segal LLP of Toronto.

He will address the following topics:
• What are allowable foreign activities under Canadian law? Direct charitable activities versus use of intermediaries.
• Dealing with donors, intermediaries (agent, partner contractor etc) and regulators
• Ensuring foreign activities are transparent, legal, ethical and effective
• How do you find and select an effective partner to work with?

Mr. Blumberg is also happy to address specific questions that participants may have and encourages them to be sent in to PFC prior to the session.
Who is this for? This session is for trustees, directors and foundation staff

Time: If you have access to a phone and the Internet, you can participate in this session from anywhere in the
country! 10 am (Pacific), 11 am (Mountain), 12 noon (Central), 1 pm (Eastern), 2 pm (Atlantic), and 2:30 pm
(Newfoundland).

Cost: $65 members, $90 non-members

Registration: Follow the register now link.

555 René Lévesque Blvd. West, Suite 900
Montreal, QC H2Z 1B1
T. 514.866.5446
F. 514.866.5846
http://www.pfc.ca

BIOGRAPHY
Mark Blumberg
Partner
Non-Profits and Charities, Estate Planning
Mark Blumberg is a partner at the firm of Blumberg Segal LLP in Toronto, Canada. Mark works primarily
in the areas of non-profits and charities, and estate planning. Mark is a member of the Law Society of
Upper Canada, the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) and the Estate Planning Council of
Toronto. Mark is a member of the Board of Directors of Canadian Crossroads International, a member
of Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation Planned Giving Advisory Committee, the SickKids Legacy
Advisors Committee and a former member of the Canadian Council for International Cooperation Ethics
Review Committee. Mark is on the Executive of the Ontario Bar Association Charity and Non-profit
law section. Mark is a former Executive Member of the Greater Toronto Roundtable of the Canadian
Association of Gift Planners and was previously Chairperson of the Professional Advisors Committee of
the GTA Roundtable. Mark for 5 years was Honourary Legal Counsel to Water For People – Canada, an
international water and sanitation charity, was Chairperson of the Queen’s Park Child Care Centre, and
is currently a director of the Canada-South Africa Chamber of Business, a non-profit which promotes
business ties between Canada and Southern Africa.

Mark has a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Toronto, a Bachelors of Laws degree from the
University of British Columbia and a LLM from Osgoode Hall Law School in Tax Law.

Do you require legal advice with respect to Canadian or Ontario non-profits or charities?

Contact

Charity Lawyer Mark Blumberg

Mark Blumberg is a partner at the law firm of Blumberg Segal LLP in Toronto and works almost exclusively in the areas of non-profit and charity law.

mark@blumbergs.ca
416.361.1982
Download vCard

Connect

Locate

Blumberg Segal LLP
Barristers & Solicitors
#1202 - 390 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2Y2 Canada

Charity Law List

Join Blumbergs' non-profit and charities newsletter
View recent issue: July 2019